Funding for Turbomachinery Degree

Centre for Doctoral Training (CDT) in Future Propulsion and Power

The four-year program aims at training future engineers to excel in the field of aeronautical propulsion and energy production.

During year 1, all students read for a master’s degree in Future Propulsion and Power at the University of Cambridge. Successful students are awarded a Master’s degree (Master of Research) and are granted access to the PhD phase (years 2 to 4), which is the second part of the CDT.

Students register for a PhD at one of the three partner universities: the University of Cambridge, the University of Oxford and the University of Loughborough. The 3 universities have complimentary expertise and skills and are linked to the broader UK Propulsion and Power community through collaborations with: Imperial College, Cranfield University, University of Southampton, University of Bath, University of Surrey and University of Sussex.

Both the MRes and the PhD are fully funded. Funding is provided by:

1) The Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), one of the organisations brought together to form UK Research and Innovation (UKRI). UKRI is a non-departmental public body sponsored by the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS).

2) Four industrial partners that participate in the program. Dyson, Mitsubishi, Rolls-Royce and Siemens:

  • financially support the center
  • offer bespoke industry courses in a context of manufacturing, operation and systems integration
  • provide tools that allow students to contribute to the development of real products
  • deliver courses on data analytics (Rolls-Royce R2 Data Labs, and Siemens MindSphere/IoT)
  • offer fortnightly mentorship throughout the PhD phase of the program

The close relationship with these companies guarantees a unique set of skills to the CDT graduates.

The final deadline for application is in May.